Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

9:12 a.m. - 2022-10-10
anthropoid

A bag of ice, as it's wont to do, had half-thawed on the way home and refrozen into an impractical 10 lb. brick. I cursed this development as the cat stared intently. Her kibble was stored in the vicinity of the open freezer, and she sat pointedly by her empty dish in the hopes of an afternoon feeding. I was amenable of course, but my gin and tonic took priority and, raising the frozen block over my head, proceeded to smash it violently down upon the concrete floor...feeling the length of the thing for fractures, turning it, lifting and bringing it down hard-again. It wasn't until the cat fled that it occurred to me how ape-like this motion was, and what curious roommates we must seem to other animals.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!