Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

11:39 p.m. - 2004-10-21
coffee's coffee


I've grown addicted to (or rather, I've expanded my addiction to include) canned, Asian, coffee-drinks. The Japanese supermarket down the street stocks a mind-boggling variety of these, as well as more esoteric refreshments like "Grass Jelly Drink" and "Qoo". (No matter how hard I scrutinize its label, Qoo remains a mystery! It offers up no English text-clues, just a cartoon cat hoisting aloft a half-empty glass and scrunching his face hard, like he's about to be sick. Some sort of super-tangy soda, maybe? Or am I refrigerating a 12 oz. can of Thai cat poison?) Tonight I brought home a can labeled "Brazil Coffee". Written under that, in smaller script, is the tag "The Coffee of Coffees" (what coffee itself drinks before leaving for work, maybe?). Below all of this, in smaller script still, is a poem, and the poem is rather beautiful so I'll share:

The Coffee of Coffees

I'll love you dear, I'll love you till China and Africa meet
And the river jumps over the mountain
And the salmon sings in the street.
I'll love you till the ocean is folded and hung up to dry
And the seven stars go squawking
Like geese about in the sky.


 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!